BII News - BII announces 16 selection committee experts

BII announces 16 selection committee experts

BII announces 16 selection committee experts

BioInnovation Institute (BII) will officially launch the first three programs at the beginning of 2019 and are now set to select the participants among the many incoming applications from aspiring life science start-ups and projects.

To advise the BII board of directors in selecting the strongest and most commercially viable teams within pharma, biotech and medtech, BII is now presenting the 16 selection committee experts divided into two committees for the Proof of Concept & Business Acceleration Academy as well as the Creation House incubator program, respectively.

The selection committees are composed of 16 outstanding life science scientists, experts and key opinion leaders with proven experience within research, innovation, entrepreneurship, the life science industry, as well as seeds and venture investments.

“We are receiving many applications of high quality from start-ups and research projects at the moment, and it’s of greatest importance to select the best and most promising for our programs. The unique composition of experts in our new selection committees brings valuable life science excellence, highly specialized knowledge and global perspective to the table and we are honored to have them with us,” says Thomas Nagy, director at BioInnovation Institute.

The selection committees will advise the BII Board of directors in the evaluation and selection of early stage life science companies for BII’s grant and loan giving programs. The call for the Proof of Concept program and the Creation House Incubator closes September 27, 2018 at 12 noon. The call for applications for the Business Acceleration Academy closes October 25, 2018.

Meet the selection committee members below:

The selection committee for the Proof of Concept (PoC) and Business Acceleration Academy (BAA):

Niels-Henrik von Holstein-Rathlou, Head of Research and Innovation Grants, Novo Nordisk Foundation

Mette Rosenkilde, Professor, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, UCPH

Poul Nissen, Director, DANDRITE, Aarhus University

Thomas Helleday, Professor, Cancer Centre Director, The University of Sheffield, UK

Jeroen Bakker, Senior Associate, Novo Holdings

Henrik Harboe, CSO, Liita and Panel Member, InnoBooster

Charlotte Vedel, CTO, Lactobio

Peter Birk, Partner, Accelerace Management A/S


The selection committee for the Creation House incubator:

Emmanuelle Coutanceau, Partner, Novo Holdings and REPAIR Impact Fund

Chris Newton, Board member, Inventiva Pharma

Anker Lundemose, CEO, MISSION Therapeutics

Sten Verland, Senior Partner, Sunstone Capital

Anne Osdoit, Partner, MD Start and Consultant, Sofinnova Partners

Finn Ketler, Vice President – Woundcare at Biotech Pharmacon ASA

Sebastian Søderberg, Vice President, Business Development, Novozymes A/S

Neil Goldsmith, Director, BaseLaunch


More news from BII

BioInnovation Institute announces board of directors for the three-year establishment phase

What does BII look for in an application?

Read our impact report and get acquainted with the progress that BII experienced during 2022

Read more
Impact Report 2022